Maryland Foreclosure Laws and Statutes | MD

Maryland Foreclosure is both Judicial and Non-Judicial.

Maryland foreclosure law states that the person authorized to make a sale (trustee or sheriff) in an action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust shall give written notice of the action to the record owner of the property to be sold.

The written notice shall be sent no later than 2 days after the action to foreclose is docketed:

The notice shall state that an action to foreclose the mortgage or deed of trust may be or has been docketed and that a foreclosure sale of the property will be held.

30 days before the day on which a foreclosure sale of the property is actually held; and the date on which an action to foreclose the mortgage or deed of trust is filed.

In addition to any notice, the person authorized to make a sale in an action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust shall give written notice of the proposed sale to the record owner of the property to be sold.

The notice shall state the time, place, and terms of the sale and shall be sent not earlier than 30 days and not later than 10 days before the date of sale.

The person authorized to make a sale in an action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust shall give written notice of any proposed foreclosure sale to the holder of any subordinate mortgage, deed of trust, or other subordinate interest, including a judgment.

Each request for notice of sale shall:

Be recorded in a separate docket or book which shall be indexed under the name of the holder of the superior mortgage or deed of trust and under the book and page numbers where the superior mortgage or deed of trust is recorded; Identify the property in which the subordinate interest is held; State the name and address of the holder of the subordinate interest; and Identify the superior mortgage or deed of trust by stating: The names of the original parties to the superior mortgage or deed of trust; the date the superior mortgage or deed of trust was recorded; and the office, docket or book, and page where the superior mortgage or deed of trust is recorded.

Maryland Foreclosure Notice of Sale

Maryland foreclosure law states that a notice of sale must be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county where the property resides at least once a week for three (3) successive weeks, with the first publication to be not less than fifteen (15) days prior to sale and the last publication to be not more than one week prior to sale. The trustee also sends a notice of the sale to the last known address of the mortgagor, and the owner of the title of the property. The notice of sale must be sent by certified and by registered mail, not more than thirty (30) days and not less than ten (10) days before the date of the sale.

The sale must be conducted by the person authorized to make the sale (trustee or sheriff) and may take place immediately outside the courthouse entrance, on the property itself or the location advertised in the notice of sale, if different. The terms of the sale vary by process.

After Maryland Foreclosure Sale

After the sale, the trustee sends a report to the court. Upon filing the report, it is published in the newspaper stating the foreclosure sale will be ratified 30 days from the date of notice.

Search foreclosure listings in Maryland

Get more information on foreclosures by ordering our best-selling Foreclosure eBooks

 

View the foreclosure laws for another state

Featured Product

foreclosure home study course
"The Investors Complete Foreclosure Home Study Course - Only $47"

Discover a Proven System for Buying Real Estate Foreclosures 30%, 40%, and 50% Below Market Value. Generate Huge Returns Using This Step-by-Step Foreclosure System.

Learn More - Click Here

Build Your Wealth

See our investment properties

Looking for Great Returns and Positive Cashflow? Build your wealth by investing in real estate.

Check out our inventory! »

Foreclosure Newsletter

Sign up now for some great tips, tricks and resources to becoming a savvy real estate investor.
Comodo SSL