South Dakota Foreclosure Laws and Statutes | SD

South Dakota Foreclosure is Judicial.

South Dakota foreclosure law states that first a complaint initiating a civil action is to be served. All parties are given 30 days to answer. Once judgment is entered, there is a 30 day stay that can be waived by the court.

South Dakota Foreclosure Sale

Following the period, notice of sale must be given by publication once a week for four successive weeks in a newspaper where the property is located. At least 21 days before the sale of the property, the lender must serve a written copy of the notice of foreclosure sale to the borrower and any lien holder whose interest in the property being foreclosed would be affected by the foreclosure. Once publication is complete, the South Dakota foreclosure sale is conducted.

The sale will be conducted between the hours of 9:00 am and 5:00 pm. Any person including the mortgagee (lender) may bid at the sale. The winning bidder will receive a certificate of sale.

South Dakoth Foreclosure Redemption Period

In most cases, borrowers have 1 year from the date of the South Dakota foreclosure sale to redeem the property.

Search foreclosure listings in South Dakota

Get more information on foreclosures by ordering our best-selling Foreclosure eBooks


View the foreclosure laws for another state

Featured Product

foreclosure home study course
"The Investors Complete Foreclosure Home Study Course - Only $47"

Discover a Proven System for Buying Real Estate Foreclosures 30%, 40%, and 50% Below Market Value. Generate Huge Returns Using This Step-by-Step Foreclosure System.

Learn More - Click Here

Build Your Wealth

See our investment properties

Looking for Great Returns and Positive Cashflow? Build your wealth by investing in real estate.

Check out our inventory! »

Foreclosure Newsletter

Sign up now for some great tips, tricks and resources to becoming a savvy real estate investor.
Comodo SSL